When you’re pulled over and are charged with a DUI, one of the first things you may want to know is what the potential penalties are if you are convicted. In Oregon, DUIs are either a misdemeanor or a felony, so penalties can range include jail time or prison time with varying lengths of time. In this post, we’ll go over all of the details.

If you were charged with a DUI and need help from an experienced DUI attorney, contact the team at Donahue Law Firm in Bend, Oregon. Our defense attorneys are top of the line and have a proven track record of winning cases or cases with dismissed charges. Whatever the situation is, whatever the details of your case are, you can count on us to provide service that goes above and beyond.

Learn More About Our DUI Services

First DUI Offense

If you are convicted of a DUI and this is the first DUI offense, the penalties can include:

  • Between two days and one year in jail or 80 hours of community service.
  • A minimum fine of $1,000. If your blood alcohol level (BAC) is 0.15 or greater, the minimum fine is bumped up to $2,000. If you were driving with a child in the vehicle, the fine may be up to $10,000.
  • Your driver’s license will be suspended for one year.
  • After the one-year license suspension, an ignition interlock device will need to be installed on your vehicle. This prevents the car from starting until a breathalyzer test is successfully completed.
  • Drug and alcohol program.
  • Victim’s Impact Panel program.

Second DUI Offense

Penalties can include:

  • Up to one year in jail.
  • The minimum fine is $1,500. When the BAC level is 0.15 or greater, the fines are the same as they are with a first offense.
  • If the second offense is within five years of the first DUI, the driver’s license may be suspended for up to three years.
  • After the period of license suspension, an ignition interlock device needs to be installed on the vehicle for two years.
  • Drug and alcohol program.
  • Victim’s Impact Panel program.

Third DUI Offense

If you are convicted of a third DUI and it is within 10 years of the first two convictions, it is considered a Class C felony in Oregon. Penalties for this conviction include:

  • Up to five years in jail.
  • Regardless of your BAC, the minimum fine is $2,000. When there is a child present in the vehicle at the time of your arrest, minimum fines can be up to $10,000.
  • Your driver’s license can be permanently suspended.
  • Drug and alcohol treatment program.
  • Victim’s Impact Panel program.

What is the Victim’s Impact Panel Program?

A two-hour presentation, the Victim’s Impact Panel program consists of speakers and presenters who talk about the impacts of driving while under the influence. Presenters can include victims of DUI crashes, the acting Deschutes County District Attorney, and acting law enforcement officials.

Additional Information on the Program

  • The program is offered to inform offenders of the dangers of driving under the influence or anyone in the DUI diversion program.
  • Anyone who has been charged and convicted of DUI crime are required to attend.
  • Attendees must pre-register for the program.
  • When you register for the program, you will receive an information packet that includes times and locations.
  • The cost is $50 and only cash or money orders are accepted.

If you have any questions about potential penalties for a DUI conviction, please get in touch with the DUI attorneys at Donahue Law Firm. Our team has been handling cases in Bend, Oregon for years and have what it takes to fight hard for your case. If you are facing your first or third charge, we will be there to guide you throughout the process.