Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUII) are both serious charges in Oregon and are considered criminal offenses. At Donahue Law Firm, we have considerable experience fighting DUI and DUII cases and want to help you with yours.
If you’re blood alcohol content (BAC) is higher than .08 percent, you could be faced with a DUII charge. To receive a conviction, it must be proven that you were driving under the influence of drugs, including controlled substances, or alcohol. This is commonly done with a breathalyzer test that will be administered at the scene. If you are taken to the police station, a blood or chemical test may be used.
Oregon has an implied consent law, which requires you to take a BAC test when asked by a police officer. Refusing to take the test could result in a suspension of your driver’s license. It is also possible for you to be arrested even when your BAC is below .08 percent. A police officer may administer a field sobriety test, which can involve standing on one foot or walking in a straight line. If the officer determines your driving is impaired, the officer could arrest you.
If you are convicted of a DUII, the penalties will vary depending on the circumstances, such as the type of vehicle you were driving, your BAC, and if you have any previous convictions. A first-time offense will typically receive a misdemeanor, which can result in suspension of your license, two days to one year in jail, or a fine up to $6,250. For those with past convictions, you may be facing a felony DUII, which can result in up to five years in prison or fines up to $125,000.
Learn more about Oregon DUI and DUII charges and get in touch with a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Our team at Donahue Law Firm will fight for your case and will always provide compassionate and knowledgeable service. Call us today for a free consultation.